Lectionary for January 2021

The lectionary includes Saturdays, Sundays and Wednesdays, special commemorations and high holy days. For daily Bible reading, one can find a variety of schedules online that can be customized to your needs.

Saturday, January 2: Genesis 47:28-50:26; 1 Kings 2:1-12

Sunday, January 3: Didache 1; Matthew 1-7

Tuesday, January 5: St. James the Righteous – James 1-3

Wednesday, January 6: Kingdom Letter 1

Thursday, January 7: St. James the Righteous – James 4-5

Saturday, January 9: Exodus 1:1-6:1; Jeremiah 1:1-2:3

Sunday, January 10: Didache 2; Matthew 8-14

Wednesday, January 13: Kingdom Letter 2

Saturday, January 16: Exodus 6:2-9:35; Ezekiel 28:25-29:21

Sunday, January 17: Didache 3; Matthew 15-21

Wednesday, January 20: Kingdom Letter 3

Saturday, January 23: Exodus 10:1-13:16; Jeremiah 46:13-28

Sunday, January 24: Didache 4; Matthew 22-28

Wednesday, January 27: Kingdom Letter 4

Saturday, January 30: Exodus 13:17-17:16; Judges 5:1-31

Sunday, January 31: Didache 5; Mark 1-7


Commemorations:

  • St. James the Righteous (first Tuesday, first Thursday)
  • Holy Memorial Day is observed each Wednesday evening (for more information see below)
  • We fast from dairy products on Wednesdays, and from meat products on Fridays. The fasting period is from sundown on Tuesday to sundown on Wednesday, and sundown on Thursday to sundown on Friday.
  • Sabbath is observed on Saturday. The Sabbath is from sundown on Friday to sundown on Saturday.

Commemoration of St. James the Righteous
Heavenly Father, Yahweh, who called Thy servant James the Righteous into the headship of the earthly Church, under the mantle of Thine only Begotten Son Yeshua Messiah, help us, O Lord, to preserve and live by the words of the Teacher of Righteousness; through Yeshua Messiah our Lord. Amen.

Holy Memorial Day
(On this evening we light a single candle for the departed and recite the following prayer)
O loving Creator, we ask that Thou keepest our dearly departed in the shelter of Thy hands. Please bring them closer to Thy Light so they may rise ever higher in Thy presence. Through Thy Son our Lord Yeshua Messiah. Amen.

Divine Liturgy
There are no High Holy Days in this month’s lectionary. Thus, the celebration of the Divine Liturgy is taken from the Didache, chapters 9 and 10. (Download the liturgy here.) In most cases, Qurbana/Mass may be celebrated on any day, but should be celebrated at least once per week, preferably on Saturday or Sunday. Priests are responsible for celebrating Mass daily, even if in a private situation. In the latter case, the Didache may be used instead of the Liturgy of St. James.